Anne Hathaway Selected for Pudding Woman of the Year

Anne J. Hathaway—the star of movies ranging from The Princess Diaries to Rachel Getting Married—will be honored as Hasty Pudding Theatricals’ 2010 Woman of the Year, officials at the Pudding said today.

“You can confirm it,” said Clifford N. Murray ’10, the theatrical organization’s president, in an interview with The Crimson on Wednesday. Murray referred further comment to press manager David J. Smolinsky ’11.

The Pudding selected Hathaway, 27, for her background in and commitment to theater, as well as her ability to play characters whose personalities and situations widely vary, according to Smolinsky.“What impressed us the most has definitely been her range and the ability with which she can play such diverse characters,” Smolinsky said, citing her roles in films ranging from comedies such as Get Smart to more serious films like The Devil Wears Prada and Brokeback Mountain.

Smolinsky also said that the Pudding was impressed by Hathaway’s background in the arts.

“She grew up in musical theater,” he said, noting that she performed in a public performance of William Shakespeare’s Twelfth Night in New York City.

Hathaway will be honored in a parade from The Inn at Harvard on Mass. Ave. to the New College Theater at 12 Holyoke Street on Jan. 28 at 2:30 p.m. Following the parade, Murray and Vice President of the Cast Derek Mueller ’10 will lead a roast of the Oscar nominee.

Hathaway started her career in the television series “Get Real” but only began gaining recognition when she took the role of princess-to-be Mia Thermopolis in the 2001 film The Princess Diaries. She subsequently played a supporting role in 2005’s critically acclaimed Brokeback Mountain and in 2006’s The Devil Wears Prada.

In 2008, Hathaway played the role of Kym in Rachel Getting Married—a role that earned her nominations for the Academy Award for Best Actress and the Golden Globe Award for Best Actress in a drama.

Smolinsky declined to comment on the status of the decision on the Pudding’s Man of the Year winner.

Source: The Crimson

Comments are closed.